The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

OK I have to admit, that I read this book out of guilt.

Let me explain.

About 2 years ago someone recommended this to me. So I picked it up. Big mistake. It is not a long book, but I could not get through it. So I put it down. My nephew read the series and loved it, and my friends “The Matt’s” loved it. So I thought I must have missed something. I didn’t see the movie. I had no interest. So now that Catching Fire the sequel is coming out in the theater, I thought I should give it another read. I thought I was missing something.

I just don’t think that I’m into dystopia novels. This is one of them.

The setting is North America in the future. The continent is split up in districts with The Capital being in charge. At one point the districts tried to revolt unsuccessfully against the Capital. As a punishment, every year, The Capital holds The Hunger Games. Each district has a lottery and two teenagers (one boy, one girl) must compete to the death.

Katniss’s younger sister was selected and Katniss volunteers to take her place. The rest of the novels is a very violent journey though The Hunger Games.

When I was in high school, The Lottery really bothered me and the movie of Lord of the Flies bothered me more than the book, so maybe I am not one of those people that can’t take the violence to the innocent . I guess I don’t want to believe that society can become that violent.

I finished the book and will go with the Matt’s to see the movies, but this wouldn’t be my first choice.

This book is not appropriate for Middle School students. I would say Ninth grade or 14 years old.

Leave a Reply

