The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

Image

I have a confession to tell. When I first started reading again, I was reading fluff. For fun. Which I think is okay because I was reading for my own pleasure. But sometimes, you want to read something that has weathered through time. Also, the new movie version of The Great Gatsby was coming out and I have a strict rule to read the book before the movie. (That may be due to OCD or a snobbish attitude that the book is always better).

So I was making plans with my friend Cora to go see the movie. That put me on time limit to read it. So I did!

The Great Gatsby has been called to Great American Novel. It is one of the few novels that Fitzgerald ever publish. And I loved every minute of it.

It is the story of Jay Gatsby, who lives in Long Island after the war. He is very wealthy and doesn’t mind showing it to all around him. His life is filled with great parties every night, with guests he doesn’t even know. The party’s are filled with an excess of debauchery, gin and sex. But the rich are not ashamed of their behavior.

The story is narrated by Nick who is renting the house next to Gatsby mansion. One night he goes to Gatsby manor, (no one is really ever invited to these parties) ,and he meets a cast of characters including Tom and Daisy Buchanan. What follows is a summer of debauchery, excess, lies, affairs, where no one is really who they think or say they are.

In the end Fitzgerald leaves us a taste of what real friendship is, and how hard it is to fall in love, and what you think is real ,really isn’t.

I loved the book! My friend says that she re reads it often and I can see why. (With my memory loss I can’t remember if I read this before. My friends say yes, but my high school teacher said no) I would recommend it.

On a side note, with the new Common Core Curriculum, they don’t do much novels in high school. (Don’t even get me started!) so some districts are doing The Great Gatsby in 8th or 9th grade. I disagree with that. Just because a student has the ability to read a book doesn’t mean that it is appropriate. A book like this should be taught in a 11th or 12th grade where it can be appreciated. (My personal opinion and since this is my blog, I can do that! Lol)

By the way, I never did get to see the movie, but I have a dinner date with Cora to finally see it! I’ll let you know what I think!

Leave a Reply

